Spicy Chili-Garlic Stir-Fry

18 Aug

This dish is by far one of my favorite paleo creations yet.  It is simple, easy, and deliciously SPICY.  I used 1 rounded tablespoon of chili garlic sauce and found the dish to be delightfully zingy in that good almost-painful-but-not-quite kind of way; if you prefer less heat, use less.  You could also make this dish with thinly sliced pork or beef.  Or, with shrimp — though if you use shrimp, I’d cook all the veggies and the chili sauce first, then add the shrimp at the end to cook through as they will only take a few minutes.  One of my favorite parts of this dish was the shrooms.  J does not eat shrooms so I almost never get to have them.  When he is gone working his overnights, I sometimes splurge on a shroomy dish I can have all to myself in his absence.  If you don’t like shrooms, just leave them out!  (How many times can I say “shrooms” in this paragraph?  SHROOMS!)  Also, I used frozen vegetables, and I did not thaw them before cooking.  I just threw them in frozen, put a lid on, and the steam cooked them to perfection.  This will serve two hungry people; I made it when I was home alone, ate half for dinner that night and split the remaining half over lunch and dinner the next day.  Yum!  🙂

Spicy Chili-Garlic Stir Fry
Serves 2

Ingredients:
2 Tbs coconut oil
3/4lb to 1lb raw boneless chicken breast, thinly sliced
1/3 cup whole raw almonds
2 1/2 cups mixed vegetables (I used broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower from the freezer section)
1/2 cup mixed bell pepper strips
6oz baby button mushrooms, stems removed and schrooms sliced
1-2 Tbs chili garlic sauce (I use Huy Fond Foods brand)
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:
Heat coconut oil over medium heat in large saute pan until hot (a bit of moisture flicked in the oil will sizzle.  BE CAREFUL.)  Add sliced chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until chicken is cooked through.  Add almonds and cook about 3 minutes.  Add frozen mixed vegetables, bell peppers, button mushrooms, and chili garlic sauce.  Put a lid on the pan and cook until vegetables are heated through and mushrooms are tender, a few minutes.  Check frequently and stir as needed to prevent sticking/burning.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve.

Leave a Reply

